I found the following at a fantastic site a friend turned me on to.  It’s called YouVersion.com.  They have 18 versions available; you can join the community and more…check it out.  This was written by Sarah B. from Kansas City, MO.

 

 “I heard a message that revolutionized my life. If you want to plug something small in, you can plug it into what is called a 110 outlet; a lamp, a clock; anything ordinary really. Plug it into a 110 outlet and it will work. 

       If you want to plug something big in, like a washer or dryer or an air conditioning unit, you cannot plug it into a 110. It is too big and will blow the breaker. You have to plug big things into a 220 outlet.

Galatians 1:10: “For am I now trying to win the favor of people, or God? Or am I striving to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a slave of Christ.”  That’s the little outlet and too many times I try to plug something too big (my life. my strength. my joy. my hope.) into something that is far too small. I cannot plug my life into a 110 and live to please other people. It may work for a little while but sooner or later a fuse is gonna blow. As a college volleyball player, I found myself doing this so much. I would play for my name in the paper or my coach’s approval or for the fans to be chanting my name. Then I discovered I was playing for the wrong reasons. I was plugging into a 110. 

Galatians 2:19b-20: “For I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”  Now, this is what I need to be plugged into. That I no longer live.  I no longer live for the approval of man. That I no longer live to please those around me.  That I no longer live, but that Christ lives IN me. That the life I do live is through faith in all I say and do.

When I applied this to playing volleyball the court became my sanctuary. The place where I could use the talents God has given me to worship Him. And I can say that playing at a 220 is so much more satisfying that playing at a 110. When I’m playing for Christ and not other’s approval, something special happens that cannot really be described in words. So, daily, I must ask myself am I plugged into a 110 or a 220?  Am I striving for the favor of man or God?  Am I plugging something too big into something far too small? Am I living 220?”

THANK YOU SARAH B.

